- Renewals are annual. Each license expires on October 1 of the year following its issuance.
- Annual renewal period is July 1 through September 30 at midnight.
- Annual renewal fees ($93 for PTA and $130 for PT).
- 10 hours of continuing education required with renewal application. (Details below).
- All licensees who received their license in 2021 must submit a minimum of two (2) hours of Alabama Jurisprudence continuing education with their 2022 renewal.
- Licensees who were licensed by endorsement/score transfer must submit an additional 8 hours of continuing education (10 hours total).
- Continuing education certificates will be submitted/uploaded with your renewal application.
- Continuing education certificates must clearly show course date of completion; times of instruction or activity (contact hours); objectives/goals; and identify target audience or describe prerequisite level of experience needed.
Courses must be conducted by experts in the subject matter (either by education, training, or experience).
- Practicing without a valid license can include a fine of up to $500, a term of imprisonment, or both.
- COURSE PROVIDERS: Please be advised that pre-approval for courses offered is not required. We will honor any coursework relevant to the practice of physical therapy.
It is your professional judgment, to determine if the continuing education activities completed are applicable, appropriate, and meet the requirements of the Board. All continuing education offerings, regardless of source will be accepted provided that it is directly related to the licensee’s practice of physical therapy and meets the GENERAL GUIDELINES.
Two (2) hours of Alabama Physical Therapy jurisprudence, covering both the Practice Act and the Administrative Code, are required for those licensed in 2021. General physical therapy ethics courses may apply to the additional
8 hours of continuing education (if required) but does not meet the 2-hour Alabama Jurisprudence requirement. After your initial renewal, two (2) hours of jurisprudence covering Alabama’s Practice Act and the Administrative Code will be required in years that end in
“0” or “5” (2025, 2030, 2035, etc.). Below are links to known Alabama jurisprudence providers that are accepted:
2022 Licensee Renewal Requirements
- All licensees are required to have a minimum of ten (10) hours of continuing education unless license was obtained by exam within the past calendar year.
- All licensees licensed by endorsement in 2021 must provide 8 hours of continuing education and 2 hours of Alabama Jurisprudence continuing education.
- Continuing education submitted must be within the current two-year compliance period of October 1, 2020, through September 30, 2022.
- Instructions for the renewal application
Renew Your License Here.
Expired License Renewal and Restoration
- Expired licenses may be renewed online within 5 years of its expiration date upon application and payment to the board. To renew your license, you must upload certificate(s)
of attendance at board acceptable continuing education (10 hours per year expired) and pay the appropriate fees of $230 (PT) or $193 (PTA), plus a $50 restoration fee.
You will also be required to upload a current, non-expired government issued ID and proof of legal presence in the U.S.*
- Licenses expired more than 5 years may be renewed online only by complying with the provisions relating to the issuance of an original license. This includes holding a license
in another state during the time expired, payment of the fees listed above, uploading certificate(s) documenting 10 hours of attendance at board acceptable continuing education,
and uploading a current, non-expired government ID and proof of legal presence in the U.S.
- If you have been expired for more than 5 years and have not held an active license in the U.S. within the last five years, you will be required to sit for the NPTE again.
Please contact the board if you have any questions.
- Practicing without a license is a Class C misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not more than $500, or by a term of imprisonment of not more than 90 days, or both.
ALA. CODE Section 34-24-196 (1975)
*Government issued ID includes, but is not limited to, unexpired driver’s license, unexpired state issued ID card, unexpired military ID, or unexpired passport. Proof of legal presence
in the U.S. includes, but is not limited to, a U.S. birth certificate, unexpired passport, certificate of naturalization, certificate of U.S. citizenship, unexpired Visa, or permanent resident card.
An unexpired Star ID driver’s license or U.S. passport meets both of these requirements.
Original License Replacement
- A licensee may be issued an official replacement license upon completing the appropriate documentation and payment of the set fee of $5.00.
- A licensee must login to their Licensee Online Profile to complete the request and pay the fee.
- A licensee may also print a copy of their license free of charge using the Licensee Online Profile.
Updating Personal Information
- All Licensees are required to keep the Board apprised of changes in personal information.
- Changes to information, including name, address, phone number, email address, and employer, may be completed via the Licensee Online Profile.